How Many of These Caldecott Winners Have You Read?

The Caldecott Medal has been awarded annually since 1938 to the illustrator of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Named after the English illustrator Randolph Caldecott, this prestigious award is a testament to the power of art within children’s literature. So, the question is: how many of these iconic winners have you read? Let’s delve into some of these remarkable books from different eras that have made their mark in children’s literature.

1. Make Way for Ducklings (1941) – Robert McCloskey

Set in Boston, Robert McCloskey’s delightful story captures the journey of Mr. and Mrs. Mallard as they search for an idyllic location to raise their growing family.

2. Where the Wild Things Are (1964) – Maurice Sendak

One of the most famous Caldecott winners, Sendak’s tale follows young Max on a fantastical adventure with mysterious creatures known as “wild things.”

3. The Snowy Day (1963) – Ezra Jack Keats

This beautifully illustrated book follows a young boy named Peter as he experiences the wonder and excitement of a snowy city.

4. Jumanji (1982) – Chris Van Allsburg

This enchanting fable tells the story of two children who find and play a mysterious jungle themed board game with extraordinary consequences.

5. Sylvester and the Magic Pebble (1970) – William Steig

Steig’s unique storytelling exemplifies imagination at its finest when Sylvester finds a magic pebble that grants wishes.

6. The Hello, Goodbye Window (2006) – Chris Raschka

A heartwarming tale about a child’s relationship with her grandparents, this engaging book centers around a special window that serves as both a beginning and ending point for visits.

7. Flotsam (2007) – David Wiesner

In this beautiful wordless picture book, Wiesner explores the depths of undersea life through a magical journey of discovery.

8. A Sick Day for Amos McGee (2011) – Erin E. Stead

This charming and delightful tale features zookeeper Amos McGee, who takes care of all the animals at the zoo. When he falls ill, it’s the animals who step up to provide care and companionship in return.

9. This is Not My Hat (2013) – Jon Klassen

Klassen pulls readers into the underwater world through his unique illustration style, telling a captivating story about a fish who steals a hat from another fish.

10. The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend (2015) – Dan Santat

The magical narrative follows Beekle, an imaginary friend in search of his human companion, exploring themes of friendship and imagination.

Looking back at these literary gems highlights the incredible talent that these illustrators possess in creating unforgettable children’s picture books. Now it’s time to reflect – how many Caldecott winners have you read? Whether it’s revisiting old favorites or discovering new treasures, immerse yourself in the rich world of awarded stories that have entertained and inspired generations.

Choose your Reaction!