How to Renew or Reinstate a Teachers License in Nebraska

Renewal of Teaching Certification

Your Initial Teaching License in Nebraska is good for 5 years, after which time it has to be renewed online. You have to submit proof of completing either 6 credit hours of college credit at a sanctioned Nebraska institution or uninterrupted teaching experience with a Nebraska school within the past 5 years. Submit either the Confirmation of Experience form or the Institutional Recommendation Form based upon which of these conditions you meet. You can then advance to the Standard Teaching License, which is also good for 5 years.

Teaching Certification Reinstatement

Suppose your teaching license lapsed more than 5 years ago. In that case, you have to have finished 15 specific courses/semester-hour credits within the past 5 years at a sanctioned teacher preparation program in Nebraska. Among the courses, you have to take the following:

  • Instructional techniques
  • Practicum of 100 hours with students in a classroom
  • Courses addressing issues in education, such as:
    • Gifted ed
    • Special ed
    • School law
    • Reading/writing
  • The rest of the courses have to be directly related to the endorsement/content area on your lapsed teaching license.

You can apply online once you have met these conditions.

Choose your Reaction!