How to Start Homeschooling in Georgia

As a result of COVID-19, homeschooling is on the rise. For some, this is a short-term arrangement, and others have discovered that homeschooling is perfect for their family. In case you don’t know, homeschooling is simply the practice of educating your kids from home. Some families choose to collaborate through homeschooling cooperatives and extracurricular leagues to enrich the home school experience.

Homeschooling is legal in all 50 states, including the District of Columbia. When exploring the homeschooling route, please be aware that the laws and policies that govern homeschooling differ by state. If you wonder if homeschooling is a good fit for your family, you probably have questions about how to begin the process and what resources are available. Because of this, we created a series entitled, How to Start Homeschooling. In each installment, we will discuss homeschooling rules and resources for each state. In today’s installment, we will discuss homeschooling in Georgia.

What you need to know:

  • Georgia homeschool law requires you to submit a Declaration of Intent with the Department of Education within 30 days of starting to homeschool. It must be filed each year following before September 1st.
  • If you need to remove your kid, submit your Declaration of Intent, and inform the school of withdrawal.
  • Homeschool teachers must have at least a high school diploma or GED, and you may only teach your kids.
  • Homeschool learners must be taught a minimum of 180 days that consist of 4.5 hours of schooling.
  • There are five required academic subjects for homeschooled learners: reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and STEM.
  • The state of Georgia requires that you document your child’s annual yearly progress and retain a copy of your Declaration of Intent and your kid’s test scores for your homeschool records.
  • Homeschooled learners in Georgia must take a national standardized test in grades 3, 6, and 9.
  • If you re-enroll your child in a public school, you will need to submit a withdrawal from homeschool and have your enrolling school certify your homeschool work.


You may also want to check out the Georgia Home Education Association, the Georgia Department of Education’s Homeschooling page, Home School Legal Defense Association – Georgia, and Eagle’s Nest Christian Home Educators Association (ENCHEA).

Choose your Reaction!