How to Start Homeschooling in New Mexico

As a result of COVID-19, homeschooling is on the rise. For some, this is a short-term arrangement, and others have discovered that homeschooling is perfect for their family. In case you don’t know, homeschooling is simply the practice of educating your kids from home. Some families choose to collaborate through homeschooling cooperatives and extracurricular leagues to enrich the home school experience.

Homeschooling is legal in all 50 states, including the District of Columbia. When exploring the homeschooling route, please be aware that the laws and policies that govern homeschooling differ by state. If you wonder if homeschooling is a good fit for your family, you probably have questions about how to begin the process and what resources are available. Because of this, we created a series entitled, How to Start Homeschooling. In each installment, we will discuss homeschooling rules and resources for each state. In today’s installment, we will discuss homeschooling in New Jersey.

What you need to know:

  • New Mexico Homeschool Law requires you to inform the state through the New Mexico Public Education Department within 30 days of starting to homeschool.
  • If you need to remove your kid, contact your kid’s school to inform them and ask if they have an official form for you to submit.
  • You must be the parent or guardian of each kid you homeschool and have a minimum high school diploma or GED.
  • Homeschool learners must receive at least 180 days of instructions per year or 990 hours/year for K-6 or 1,080 hours for grades 7-12.
  • There are five required academic subjects: reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and STEM.
  • New Mexico requires that you maintain records of your kid’s immunization record and a calendar showing that you meet the minimum requirements. In New Mexico, homeschool learners do not have to let their kids participate in standardized testing.
  • If you re-enroll your kid in a public school, you must inform the Secretary of Education. Your kid’s placement will be determined by age or their score on state achievement tests – credits may not be accepted.

Resources You can learn more at the New Mexico Public Education DepartmentHome School Legal Defense Association – New Mexico, and the Christian Association of Parent Educators – New Mexico (CAPE NM).

Choose your Reaction!