How to Start Homeschooling in New York

As a result of COVID-19, homeschooling is on the rise. For some, this is a short-term arrangement, and others have discovered that homeschooling is perfect for their family. In case you don’t know, homeschooling is simply the practice of educating your kids from home. Some families choose to collaborate through homeschooling cooperatives and extracurricular leagues to enrich the home school experience.

Homeschooling is legal in all 50 states, including the District of Columbia. When exploring the homeschooling route, please be aware that the laws and policies that govern homeschooling differ by state. If you wonder if homeschooling is a good fit for your family, you probably have questions about how to begin the process and what resources are available. Because of this, we created a series entitled, How to Start Homeschooling. In each installment, we will discuss homeschooling rules and resources for each state. In today’s installment, we will discuss homeschooling in New York.

What you need to know:

  • New York Homeschool Law requires that you submit a Letter of Intent to your school district 14 days after starting to homeschool. After the first year, this letter must be submitted by July 1st. Afterward, you will receive, fill out, and return an Individual Home Instruction Plan for each kid.
  • If you need to remove your kid, contact your kid’s school to inform them and ask if they have an official form for you to complete.
  • Must be the parent or guardian of the kid or kids you are homeschooling.
  • Homeschool learners must be taught for 180 days per year or 900 hours for grades 1-6 and 990 hours for grades 7-12.
  • There are four required academic subjects for all grades: patriotism and citizenship, health education, highway safety, and traffic regulation.
  • New York requires that you keep an attendance record as well as your letter of intent, IHIP, quarterly reports for each kid, and a copy of your kid’s yearly test scores or evaluations.
  • New York homeschool learners are required to participate in testing each year. Each kid must take an achievement test administered at your local public school or non-public school, or home, by a professional. Children in grades 1-3 can receive an educational evaluation as an alternative.
  • If you re-enroll your kid in a public school, the school will determine your kid’s placement.


You can also check out the Home School Legal Defense Association – New York and Loving Education at Home (LEAH).

Choose your Reaction!