How to Start Homeschooling in Pennsylvania

As a result of COVID-19, homeschooling is on the rise. For some, this is a short-term arrangement, and others have discovered that homeschooling is perfect for their family. In case you don’t know, homeschooling is simply the practice of educating your kids from home. Some families choose to collaborate through homeschooling cooperatives and extracurricular leagues to enrich the home school experience.

Homeschooling is legal in all 50 states, including the District of Columbia. When exploring the homeschooling route, please be aware that the laws and policies that govern homeschooling differ by state. If you wonder if homeschooling is a good fit for your family, you probably have questions about how to begin the process and what resources are available. Because of this, we created a series entitled, How to Start Homeschooling. In each installment, we will discuss homeschooling rules and resources for each state. In today’s installment, we will discuss homeschooling in Pennsylvania.

What you need to know:

  • Pennsylvania Homeschool Law requires you to submit a notarized affidavit to your superintendent by August 1st each year before you begin homeschooling each year.
  • If you need to remove your kid from school, you should fill out and submit a withdrawal letter asking the school district to remove your kid before homeschooling.
  • Homeschool teachers are required to have a high school diploma or GED.
  • Homeschool learners must attend a minimum of 180 days per year or 900 hours per year for grades K-6 or 990 hours per year for grades 7-12.
  • Grades K-6 have the following required academic subjects: English, arithmetic, science, geography, history, civics, safety, health and physiology, physical education, music, and art.
  • Grades 7-12 have the following required academic subjects: English, science, geography, social studies, mathematics, art, music, physical education, and health.
  • The state of Pennsylvania requires that you keep a portfolio and a written educational evaluation for each kid.
  • Homeschool learners are required to participate in testing during grades 3, 5, and 8. They must take a national standardized test.
  • If you re-enroll your kid in a public school, contact your local school to determine the process.


You can also check out the Home School Legal Defense Association – Pennsylvania and the Christian Homeschool Association of Pennsylvania.

Choose your Reaction!