What is the Order of Phonics Teaching?

Phonics teaching is the systematic instruction of the sounds of the English language. There are six primary “phonic” skills: letter identification, word decoding, letter-sound correspondence, word reading, fluency, and accuracy. The order in which these skills are taught is based on research that indicates which skills are necessary for literacy development.

The six primary phonics skills are:

  1. Letter identification
  2. Word decoding
  3. Letter-sound correspondence
  4. Word reading
  5. Fluency
  6. Accuracy
Choose your Reaction!