Teaching Students About Five Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam are the most important Muslim practices. They’re five obligations that every Muslim must follow and meet to live a good and responsible life according to their religion, Islam.

The Five Pillars Of Islam are:

  1. Shahadah
  2. Salah
  3. Sawm
  4. Zakat
  5. Hajj

The Five Pillars of Islam for Kids


The profession of Faith. To become a Muslim, you must be able to recite the phrase sincerely, ‘There is no god but God, and Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him) is the Messenger of God’ from the Qu’ran (Islam’s sacred text). This belief is central to Islam, which is why it’s one of the Five Pillars.


Prayer. Praying is another important part of Islam and one of the Five Pillars of Islam, which is why Muslims pray five times a day facing Mecca. They pray at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset, and after dark. Sometimes they pray alone, and sometimes they pray together in a mosque.


Alms. Donating to charity and needy community members is essential to the Islamic faith. According to Islamic law, Muslims have to donate a portion of their income to those more in need. For this reason, many wealthy Muslims will build mosques, drinking fountains, hospitals, schools, and more for their community.


Fasting. During Ramadan, all healthy Muslims will fast in the daytime. This means they don’t eat or drink until the sun goes down. The fast reminds them of everything God has done for their lives and encourages gratitude. It’s also a reminder to help those who are less fortunate.


Pilgrimage. Every Muslim who is well enough to go must make at least one visit to the holy city of Mecca, Saudi Arabia, in their lifetime. During this pilgrimage, they should visit the Haram Mosque, where the Ka’ba is. This is a cubical structure with black embroidered hangings. Muslims believe it is the house Abraham (Ibrahim in Arabic) built for God, so they face its direction when they pray. Believers of the Islamic faith have gathered around the Ka’ba since the Prophet Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him). There is a dedicated month for the pilgrimage, called Dhu al-Hijjah or Dhu Al-Hijra.

Why are the Five Pillars of Islam Important?

The Five Pillars are a set of religious duties that Muslims use as a framework for their belief and life. They weave these duties into their everyday activities and how they act to show their religious devotion and prove their sincere belief.

In Islam, belief alone isn’t enough, however. Muslims must show the sincerity of their faith through their actions, which is why they strictly follow the Five Pillars of Islam.

By carrying out the obligations outlined in the Five Pillars, Muslims show their dedication and devotion to Islam. They don’t simply fit their belief around a secular life; they value their faith and prioritize it in their daily actions.

Furthermore, the Five Pillars are the foundation of Islam. The concept is often seen as a metaphor that describes Islam as a monument held up by its Five Pillars.

Choose your Reaction!