What Were the Different Types of Dinosaurs?

Many different dinosaurs lived at other times during the Mesozoic era:

  • Some dinosaurs walked on two legs, and some walked on four legs. Some could do both.
  • Dinosaurs could not fly. However, other prehistoric reptiles could fly.
  • Some dinosaurs could wade or paddle through the water. However, dinosaurs did not live in oceans, lakes, or rivers. Other prehistoric reptiles could swim and eat sharks.
  • Some dinosaurs were fast and agile, while others were slow and lumbering.
  • Some dinosaurs had thick and bumpy skin.
  • Some dinosaurs had feathers.
  • Some dinosaurs were armor-plated. Others had horns, spikes, or crests to defend themselves.

Dinosaurs can be grouped into the following categories:

Armored dinosaurs – these medium-sized, four-legged herbivores had body armor, and some even had tail spikes. Examples of armored dinosaurs include Gastonia, Stegosaurus, and Nodosaurus.

Ceratopsians – these dinosaurs were herbivores with parrot-like beaks, bony frills, and, sometimes, horns. Examples of ceratopsians include Triceratops, Centrosaurus, and Achelousaurus.

Euornithopods – these medium-sized herbivores usually walk on two legs. Examples of ornithopods include Iguanodon, Parasaurolophus, and Edmontosaurus.

Sauropods – these very large herbivores mostly walked on four legs. Examples of sauropods include Brachiosaurus, Diplodocus, and Pelorosaurus.

Large theropods – these large carnivores walked on two legs. Examples of large theropods include Carnotaurus, Allosaurus, and Tyrannosaurus rex.

Small theropods – these small carnivores, herbivores, and omnivores walked on two legs and sometimes had feathers. Examples of small theropods include Oviraptor, Troodon, and Velociraptor.

Choose your Reaction!